Saturday, August 13, 2016

Children of the Amarid - Author's Edit by David B. Coe

CHILDREN OF AMARID is the first volume of the LonTobyn Chronicle, David B. Coe’s Crawford Award-winning debut series. This is the Author’s Edit of the original book.
For a millennium  the Children of Amarid have served the people of Tobyn-Ser. Drawing upon the Mage-Craft, which flows from the psychic bond they forge with their avian familiars, the Mages of the Order have fulfilled their oaths by healing the injured and ill, repelling invasions by the land’s enemies, and caring for the people in times of crisis. They are governed by laws handed down by Amarid, the first of their kind, who committed the Mage-Craft to the people’s protection. Only once in a thousand years has a mage defied those laws. Theron, a contemporary of Amarid, sought to use his powers to gain wealth and glory. For that he was punished, though not before he brought down a terrible curse on his fellow mages and all who would come after them. 

CHILDREN OF AMARID (The LonTobyn Chronicle, Book 1) | David B. Coe | Lore Seekers Press | $4.99 eBook/ $18.95 Paperback | 384 pages | June 22, 2016 | ISBN: 978-1622680498 | Goodreads link:

Purchase links


Epic fantasy adventure in the style of J.R.R. Tolkien...

Jaryd is coming of age, and has started having strange dreams - ones that come true.  When a Child of Amarid appears in his village a few days before his 18th birthday his whole world begins to change. Suddenly he is no longer just the strange son of the village blacksmith who has prophetic dreams - he's a Mage-Adept to an Owl Master, and on his way to the Gathering, an annual meeting of the the Children of Amarid.

The book follows the travels of Jaryd and his uncle, Owl Master Baden across the country on their journey to the Gathering and through all the trials and subsequent journeys that arise from the crisis currently plaguing their country.

If you are looking for adventure, intrigue, and romance then look no further!  David's world is well-constructed and his writing is descriptive enough to allow you to feel as if you are a part of the story.  I haven't read a book of this type in close to 25 years - it was worth breaking that genre-fast!

About David B. Coe:

         David B. Coe, who also writes as D.B. Jackson, is the award-winning author of nineteen novels and more than a dozen short stories.
         Writing under his own name ( he has most recently completed a contemporary urban fantasy called the Case Files of Justis Fearsson, published by Baen Books. The first two books,SPELL BLIND and HIS FATHER’S EYES came out in 2015. The third volume, SHADOW’S BLADE, has recently been released.
          Writing under the D.B. Jackson pen name (, he writes the Thieftaker Chronicles, a series set in pre-Revolutionary Boston that combines elements of urban fantasy, mystery, and historical fiction. All four books in the series, THIEFTAKER, THIEVES’ QUARRYA PLUNDER OF SOULS, and DEAD MAN’S REACH, are available from Tor Books.
          David is the author of the LonTobyn Chronicle, his debut trilogy, which received the Crawford Fantasy Award as the best work by a new author in fantasy. He has also written the critically acclaimed Winds of the Forelands quintet and Blood of the Southlands trilogy, and the novelization of director Ridley Scott’s movie, ROBIN HOOD, starring Russell Crowe. David’s books have been translated into a dozen languages.
          He received his undergraduate degree from Brown University and his Master’s and Ph.D. in U.S. history from Stanford University.  He co-founded and regularly contributes to the Magical Words group blog (, a site devoted to discussions of the craft and business of writing fantasy, and is co-author of How To Write Magical Words:  A Writer’s Companion.

Find David online at his website, on Twitter, on Facebook or sign up for his newsletter.


There’s a tour-wide giveaway!  David is giving away a $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card (winner’s choice), or one of two copies of CHILDREN OF THE AMARID. Open to US residents only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Be sure to stop by the other blog tour stops for more chances to win!
This tour runs August 1-September 30, with excerpts, reviews, and giveaways to share. Visit all the tour stops below and support David and the awesome bloggers!
8/3 – Word Nerds (Q&A)
8/4 – I Smell Sheep (Excerpt)
8/7 – Story Forge (Q&A)
8/8 – Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist (Q&A)
8/10 – SFFWorld
8/13 – The Book Crumb Blog Trail (Review)
8/15 – Fantasy Fun Reads
8/18 – Fresh Fiction (Review)
8/24 – Fall Into Reading (Review, Cover, and Blurb)
8/31 – Faith Hunter’s Blog (Guest Post)
9/2 – Enchanted Alley (Cover and Blurb)
9/7 – Lucienne Diver’s Blog (Guest Post)
9/14 – Gail Martin’s Blog (Guest Post)
9/16 – Drey’s Library
9/20 – Slippery Words (Excerpt)
9/22 – Lillian Archer (Review)


  1. Thank you for this review! Love good epic fantasy!

  2. Loved this book in it's original edition. Just can't wait to read it since the changes have been maxe

  3. I've read some of the Thief Taker, looking forward to reading this, looks excellent.